Nearly 500 Local Government Officials Attend 2014 Joint Legislative Conference

As the state legislative session kicked off, hundreds of local government officials convened for a day of updates and advocacy.
(Published Mar 3, 2014)

Mayors, councilmembers, administrators, and other senior staff from more than 80 Minnesota cities spanning the state geographically from Ely to Albert Lea joined approximately 400 colleagues from county, township, and school board associations on Feb. 27 for the annual Joint Legislative Conference of local governments in St. Paul. This year’s conference took place on the third official day of the 2014 legislative session, as lawmakers began bracing for what promises to be one of the fastest sessions in recent memory.

Conference attendees heard remarks from Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board Commissioner Tony Sertich, as well as a panel of legislators who talked about local government issues ranging from transportation to taxes, before breaking into small group sessions to hear legislative updates from association staffers. City officials learned from League lobbyists about the current status of potential legislation related to street improvement districts, alternative publication options for cities, and revisions to a 2013 law granting cities sales tax exemption status for purchase of certain items, among other updates.

Following a lunch presentation by Minnesota Department of Education Commissioner Brenda Casselius and Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Chancellor Steven Rosenstone, attendees traveled to the State Capitol and State Office Building for meetings with individual legislators.

You can now check out highlights from the 2014 Joint Legislative Conference, as seen through the eyes of participants, by visiting The City Spot for a roundup of photos and Twitter feeds posted throughout the day there—no social media experience required! Additionally, for continual legislative updates throughout the 2014 session, sign up for Capitol Updates. When breaking legislative news happens, subscribers will receive Capitol Updates via email up to once per day, Tuesday-Friday.

Read the current issue of the Cities Bulletin

Cities attending the Joint Legislative Conference
Pre-registered cities attending the 2014 Joint Legislative Conference were:

  • Albert Lea
  • Alexandria
  • Apple Valley
  • Aurora
  • Baudette
  • Bemidji
  • Big Lake
  • Biwabik
  • Blooming Prairie
  • Bloomington
  • Brooklyn Center
  • Cambridge
  • Cleveland
  • Cloquet
  • Cold Spring
  • Corcoran
  • Crookston
  • Crystal
  • Delano
  • Dundas
  • Eagan
  • Elmore
  • Ely
  • Fairmont
  • Falcon Heights
  • Faribault
  • Fergus Falls
  • Glencoe
  • Granite Falls
  • Hawley
  • Hopkins
  • Independence
  • Inver Grove Heights
  • Jordan
  • Kasson
  • Lake City
  • Lake Crystal
  • Lake Elmo
  • Lake Park
  • Lakeville
  • Lauderdale
  • Mahtomedi
  • Mankato
  • Maplewood
  • Marshall
  • Medford
  • Melrose
  • Middle River
  • Montgomery
  • Mounds View
  • New Auburn
  • New Prague
  • Northfield
  • Norwood Young America
  • Oak Park Heights
  • Oakdale
  • Paynesville
  • Preston
  • Ramsey
  • Red Wing
  • Richmond
  • Robbinsdale
  • Sandstone
  • Shakopee
  • Shoreview
  • St. Anthony Village
  • St. Cloud
  • St. Francis
  • St. Michael
  • Stewartville
  • Sunfish Lake
  • Wabasha
  • Wadena
  • Waite Park
  • Wanamingo
  • Watkins
  • Wayzata
  • West St. Paul
  • White Bear Lake
  • Windom
  • Woodland
  • Worthington

* By posting you are agreeing to the LMC Comment Policy.